What's your degree in?

I have a Bachelor of Fine Art with a major in graphic design and a minor in photography. I've never been able to use it, but I enjoyed art school so I don't regret it.

I also have a Masters of Science, Business Administration. I use the skill I learned all the time but theyt don't pay me for it. In hindsight I would have opted against this plan. It cost alot of money, and has done me no good really.

I think I would have been much better off going into medical or teaching.

I have a BS in Forestry from MTU. My thematic was in historical archeology. I was good at statistical things like Ecosystem Modeling, Forest Biometrics, Linear Programming, Forest Economics, Forest Finance, and Practices in Silviculture. I also dug natural resource policy a lot because I liked to argue for the underdog.

Somehow, I ended up being a horticulturalist for a historical private school. Occasionally I utilize things I learned in Plant Pathology and Entomology, Urban Forestry, Botany, Hydrology, Soils, and make some use of my thematic when I need to search thru archives for historical plantings. Once I used info I learned in my Wood ID class to identify ground up stumps because an adjacent property owner cut down an acre of our woodlot, and we sued him for its value.

Basically, I use stuff I learned in about four classes for my career, and except for the plant pathology and entomology, they weren't even the classes I particularly enjoyed or excelled at. In fact, I only showed up for my midterm and final in my Intro to Hydrology class, and I'm a part of the group that manages a chunk of the headwaters for the Rouge River. Still, less than 10% of what I do involves something I learned in college. Funny how things work out. I kinda miss being a numbers guy. I feel like my current occupation mostly involves me leaning on a shovel stareing into a hole. Sometimes figuratively and sometimes literally. :(